Janet A. Liang

President, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Hospitals, Kaiser Permanente Northern California
bio photo

Janet Liang is the president of the Northern California Region of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Hospitals. In this role, she directs Kaiser Permanente’s Northern California Region, providing high-quality and affordable care and coverage for the region’s over members and operating hospitals and a large network of medical offices, continuum care and ancillary services locations across the region.

Liang was appointed chief operating officer in June 2014 where she was responsible for advancing the organizational strategy and performance of health plan and hospital operations and regional functions including Human Resources, Continuum of Care, Quality and Regulatory Services and Information Technology.

Liang is a native San Franciscan, with 24 years of experience in the health care industry. Prior to returning to Northern California, she was the president of Kaiser Permanente Hawaii for seven years, and held executive roles over a 15-year career at Group Health Cooperative in Washington State.

Liang is an active community steward. She has served on numerous community boards supporting education and socio-economic development. She is currently a member of the board of trustees for the Bay Area Council Economic Institute, Board of Governors for Chaminade University, chair for the American Heart Association’s 2016 Heart of Gold Campaign and the executive sponsor for Kaiser Permanente Asian Association.

In 2009, she was named one of the “30 Working Mothers of the Year” by Working Mothers national women’s magazine. In 2015, she was honored by the San Francisco Business Times as one of the most influential women in Bay Area Business. She is a sought-after speaker on the topics of leadership, business transformation and the value of integrated health care.

Liang holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from Boston University and a master’s degree in health administration from the University of Washington.